cinematic relics of the ’90s

It’s been a while, but I have returned. (I think that’s what bloggers always say when they come back from hiatus and want to reclaim their place in the blogosphere- just following suit).

Despite Netflix’s policy change that only allows one viewer to instantly watch a flick at a time, my Netflix devotion has not wavered. (I’ll admit that I have been, one by one, guilting all the 11 people that use my account to spend their own $10.89/month on this wonder of the internet).  At the moment, I’ve decided to step back from my voyeuristic yet educational documentary kick and grace you all with a list that most likely (unless you are one of my supportive middle-aged family members who reads this blog) will bring you back to your formative years: the ’90s.

Here are 10 movies from a decade not too far gone that you’ve probably seen and want to see again, or haven’t seen and should, according to me. I hope you trust my judgement.

The Silence of the Lambs (1991): Who would have thought that Mr. Hopkins, cannibalism and Jodie Foster who would be such a great combo? Don’t watch this one if creepy movies or “Faustian relationships” (got that from the Netflix blurb- had to look it up on Wikipedia) don’t get your goat. Otherwise you’re missing out on a classic.

The Big Lebowski (1998): Jeff Bridges, White Russians and Bowling, oh my!

Being John Malkovich (1999): John Cusack  and Cameron Diaz bring you on an overpriced tour of an actor’s mind through a filing cabinet portal. Totes surreal with a sort of depressing undercurrent, therefore not for everyone. As for me, I say that as far as Spike Jonze’s directing goes, this wins over Jackass: Number Two.

Clerks (1994): I shamefully admit that I’ve never seen this, but it appears everyone else has, and I soon shall.

Eyes Wide Shut (1999): Oh, just give it a shot, will ya? When else do you have an opportunity to witness Nicole Kidman and Tom Cruise swept up into the whirlwind an “upper-crust orgy”? And considering I abhor Tom Cruise, it’s saying something that I put this one on my list.

Pulp Fiction (1994): Duh. Now for a fun fact: rumor has it that John Travolta requires a clause in all his movie contracts where he dances.

Like Water for Chocolate (1992): Based on one of my favorite books (gracias, Laura Esquivel!), the sexy Mexican magical realism here is definitely worth having to read subtitles, for all of you subtitle-complainers (you know who you are).

Barton Fink (1991): Another one I haven’t seen, and maybe you haven’t either, but apparently we’re supposed to, NOT in The English Patient kind of way. It’s a Joel Coen movie, which should be enough to sell you on it.

Groundhog Day (1993): Another duh.

Resevoir Dogs: Tarantino’s debut film. ‘Nuff said.

So, those are the 10 films from the pre-Y2k years that I’m most impressed with on Netflix Instant. Do you have any to add to the list?

Also if you’re looking for some guilty pleasures, you can check out My Best Friend’s Wedding, Jerry Maguire AND Apollo 13, however I respectfully request that you don’t mention to anyone that you got those recommendations from me.

Be back soon, hopefully with a review of Dogtooth!

One response to “cinematic relics of the ’90s

  1. I can’t wait for the Dogtooth review!

    Also, who knew that MBFW was available on instant (not me!)

Leave a comment